On the medical point of view, the activities of the functional re-education and neurological rehabilitation include:

  • External consultations for physical and rehabilitation medicine
  • Functional explorations:

- Electrophysiologic examinations: electromyography (EMG) – about potentials among other things…
- Neurodynamic examinations
- Quantified Movement (and posture) Analysis (QMA) :
Movement disorders are often complex. Incertitudes concerning diagnosis must be cleared to give more accurate therapeutic indications. The QMA allows a simultaneous recording of three-dimensional movement trajectories, involved forces (force platforms) and muscular activities (dynamic multi thread electromyography) leading to a better approach of motor disorders affecting posture, balance, locomotion, spatial exploration and prehension.

  • Consultation of Evaluation and Spasticity Treatment (EST) and Dystonia :

- Motor groups with local anaesthetics and neurolytic agents
(botulinum toxin – phenol – alcohol)
Those care last over weeks, sometimes months, and must be integrated into a concept of continuous care. They require close knit cooperation between upstream hospital and medical structures as well as downstream long-stay institutions, professional environment, home care services and families.

Important and frequent urinary and sexual consequences of neurological pathologies and their repercussions on patients' lives led to the creation of a special unit, the S.E.N.U.F.S.

The objective of this Sexologic Evaluation and Neuro-urologic Follow-up Service is to analyze the neuro-sexual and bladder-sphincter dysfunctions and to offer a therapeutic project taking these elements into account in the treatment of the handicap and mid- long-term follow-up: comparative evaluations – medicinal adjustments – new technical help – education of patients and their relatives.

Auf der medizinischen Ebene beinhalten die Aktivitäten des Bereichs funktionale Rehabilitation und Wiedereingliederung :

  • Externe Gutachten für physikalische- und Rehabilitationsmedizin
  • Funktionsuntersuchungen :

- Elektrophysiologische Untersuchungen: Elektromyographie – u. a. erweckte Potenziale
- Neurodynamische Untersuchungen
- Quantitative Untersuchungen der Bewegung und der Körperhaltung :
Die Bewegungsstörungen sind oft komplex. Die diagnostischen Unsicherheiten müssen beseitigt werden, um die therapeutischen Indikationen besser fassen zu können. Die quantitavie Untersuchung der Bewegung und der Körperhaltung erlaubt eine gleichzeitige Aufzeichnung der dreidimensionalen Richtung in der Bewegung, der beteiligten Kräfte (Kraftplattformen) und der Muskelaktivität (Elektromyographie, dynamische Multipiste), und führen so zu einer besseren Annährung an motorischen Störungen betreffend Körperhaltung und Gleichgewicht, Fortbewegung, Bewegung im Raum und Greifbewegung.

  • Gutachten für Evalulierung und Behandlung der Spastik und der Dystonie :

- Motorische Blockaden durch lokale Anästhetika und Neurolytika (Botulinumtoxin – Phenol – Alkohol)
Die Gesamtheit dieser Behandlungen erstreckt sich über Wochen, manchmal Monate, und muss in ein kontinuierliches Pflegesystem eingeschrieben sein. Die Behandlungen erfordern enge Zusammenarbeit, sowohl mit künftigen Spitalstrukturen als auch mit Einrichtungen für längefristige Pflege, dem beruflichen Umfeld, der Heimhilfe und den Familien.

Die Bedeutung und Häufigkeit von sexuellen und urologischen Problemen bei neurologischen Krankheitsbildern und ihre Auswirkungen auf den Alltag der Patienten hat zur Gründung eines Spezialservice geführt, des S.E.S.S.N.U. (Service d’Evaluation Sexologique et Suivi Neuro-Urologique)

Dieses Service für die sexologische Evaluation und die neuro-urologische Folgebehandlung hat als Ziel, die vesiko-sphinkter- und neuro-sexuellen Dysfunktionen zu analysieren, unter Berücksichtigung der Gesamtbehinderung ein Therapieprojekt zu empfehlen, und eine mittel- und längerfristige Folgebehandlung zu gewährleisten: Vergleichsevaluationen – medikamentöse Anpassung – neue technische Hilfsmittel – Schulung des Patienten und seines Umfelds.