On the 15th of March 1978, the Functional Re-education and Rehabilitation Service of Luxemburg/Hamm opened its doors thanks to the initiative and involvement of the Accidents Insurance Community, Civil Hospices of the City of Luxemburg, Regional Health Insurance Fund of North-East France and the Nancy Regional Institute for Rehabilitation to create a "Functional and professional rehabilitation System ".

After eighteen months dedicated to occupational accidents victims, the rehabilitation service was then able to treat every patient who needed re-education thanks to a binding agreement with the Healthcare Funds Union.

Set up in the Retirement and Geriatric Home of Hamm, the first hospitalization unit opened in 1981 with the creation of 12 beds.

From 1990 to 1996 the hospitalization capacity progressively reached up to 42 beds.

On the 1st of January 1992 only HFU and Civil Hospices of the City of Luxemburg remain bound by a convention; the Accidents Insurance Community being represented by the Healthcare Funds Union, the Nancy Regional Institute for Rehabilitation and the Regional Health Insurance Fund of North-East France having ended their participation at the end of the initial agreement period.

On the 15th of March 1996, the governmental council decided to build the National Center for Functional Re-education and Rehabilitation (NCFRR) in Dudelange, on the "Frankelach" site.

On the 4th of June 1996, under the initiative of the Ministry of Health, the non-profit organization Rehazenter was created. Its purpose was to take care of the creation and management of the Center for Functional Re-education and Rehabilitation.

Following the 13th of June 1999 General Elections, a governmental coalition agreement led to a one-year moratorium for the development of the hospital plan. The project for the Center for Functional Re-education and Rehabilitation was thus submitted to this moratorium.

Within the frame of this moratorium, the project for the Center for Functional Re-education and Rehabilitation was subjected to many adaptations in 2000 especially concerning the implantation site.

On the 22nd of December 2000, the governmental council confirmed its decision to have the future center built in Luxemburg/Kirchberg.

The hospital plan of the 18th of April 2001 confirmed the role of Center for Functional Re-education and Rehabilitation of the Hamm Rehabilitation Center.

On the 1st of January 2003, the non-profit organization Rehazenter took over the Hamm Rehabilitation Center which was until then run by the Civil Hospices of the City of Luxemburg.

During the 2nd semester of 2003, the hospitalization capacity of the Hamm Rehazenter progressively reached up to 52 beds. The number of ambulatory patients is around 250 patients per day.

On the 1st of January 2004 the Center's status was changed following the vote of the 19th of December 2003 Bill stating the creation of the Public Establishment " Center for Functional Re-education and Rehabilitation ".

On the 23rd of April 2004, the first stone of the new Luxemburg/Kirchberg Rehazenter is laid.

Inauguration of the new Rehazenter on the 30th of January 2006.

Official inauguration of the new Rehazenter Luxemburg on the 2nd of February.

Public Open Days on the 3rd and 4th of February 2007.

Delocalization of the patients and all activities of Hamm to the new Kirchberg site on the 19th of February 2007. The new hospital has a capacity of 72 beds and treat an average of 500 ambulatory patients per week.

Der 15. März 1978 ist Tag des Tätigkeitsbeginns für das Service zur Rehabilitation und funktionalenWiedereingliederung (Service de Rééducation et de Réadaptation Fonctionnelles) Luxembourg/Hamm ; das Service wurde ermöglicht aufgrund der Initiative und Unterstützung der Association d'Assurance contre les Accidents, des Hospice Civil de la Ville de Luxembourg, der Caisse Régionale d'Assurance Maladie du Nord-Est de la France und des Institut Régional de Réadaptation de Nancy, mit der Zielsetzung, ein "System der funktionalen und beruflichen Wiedereingliederung" ins Leben zu rufen.

Die Rehabilitations-Abteilung, die ihre Tätigkeit anfangs auf die Behandlung von Arbeitsunfällen beschränkte, konnte ihr Angebot im Anschluss an eine achtzehnmonatige Tätigkeit mittels aufgrund einer Vereinbarung mit der Union des Caisses de Maladie (UCM) auf alle Personen ausweiten, für welche die Rehabilitations-Medizin zuständig ist.

Die erste Krankenhaus-Einheit wurde 1981 innerhalb des Geriatriezentrums (Maison de Retraite et de Gériatrie) in Hamm eröffnet und verfügte anfangs über 12 Betten.

Von 1990 bis 1996 wurde die Aufnahmekapazität schrittweise auf 42 Betten ausgeweitet.

Am 1. Januar 1992 bestand nur noch eine Vereinbarung, welche die UCM vertraglich an die Zivilkrankenhäuser Luxembourgs (Hospices Civils de la Ville de Luxembourg) band; die Unfall-Versicherungsvereinigung, vertreten durch die Union des Caisses de Maladie, das Institut Régional de Réadaptation de Nancy, und die Caisse Régionale d'Assurance Maladie du Nord-Est de la France hatten bei Vertragsende ihre Funktionen zurückgelegt.

Am 15. März 1996 beschloss der Regierungsrat (conseil de gouvernement) den Bau des Nationalen Zentrums für funktionale Rehabilitation und Wiedereingliederung (CNRFR) in Dudelange, an einem Ort, der "Frankelach" genannt wird.

Auf Initiative des Gesundheitsministeriums vom 4. Juni 1996 wurde das Rehazenter, Gesellschaft ohne Erwerbscharakter (a.s.b.l.) geschaffen, zu dessen Aufgabe der Aufbau des funktionalen Rehabilitations- und Wiedereingliederungs-Zentrums gehören sollte und das dessen Betrieb und Tätigkeit gewährleisten sollte.

Im Anschluss an die Parlamentswahlen vom 13. Juni 1999 führte die Koalitionsvereinbarung zur Verfügung eines einjährigen Moratoriums für die Entwicklung des Krankenhausplans Das Projekt nationales Zentrum für funktionale Wiedereingliederung und Rehabilitation wurde in dieses Moratorium einbezogen.

Im Rahmen des Moratoriums wurde das Projekt Nationales Zentrum für funktionale Wiedereingliederung und Rehabilitation im Jahre 2000 Gegenstand zahlreicher Anpassungen, besonders hinsichtlich des Standortes.

Am 22. Dezember 2000 bestätigte die Regierung die Entscheidung, das künftige Zentrum auf dem Standort Luxemburg/Kirchberg zu errichten.

Der Krankenhausplan vom 18. April 2001 bestätigte die Entscheidung, dass das Rehabilitations-Zentrum von Hamm die Funktion eines Nationalen Zentrums für funktionale Rehabilitation und Wiedereingliederung übernehmen solle.

Am 1. Januar 2003 erfolgte die Übernahme des Rehabilitationszentrums von Hamm, verwaltet von den Hospices Civils der Stadt Luxemburg, durch das Rehazenter, Gesellschaft ohne Erwerbscharakter, Verwaltungsunternehmen des Nationalen Zentrums für funktionale Rehabilitation und Wiedereingliederung.

Im Laufe des zweiten Halbjahrs 2003 wurde die Aufnahmekapazität des Rehazenters in Hamm schrittweise auf 52 Betten gesteigert. Die Zahl der ambulant behandelten Patienten betrug etwa 250 pro Tag.

Am 1. Januar 2004 wurde das Statut des Zentrums geändert, in Folge der Verabschiedung des Gesetzes vom 19. Dezember 2003, das zur Einrichtung, des Centre National de Rééducation Fonctionnelle et de Réadaptation führen sollte.

Am 23. April 2004 erfolgte die Grundsteinlegung für das neue Rehazenter in Luxemburg/Kirchberg.

Das Richtfest fand 30. am Januar 2006 statt, die offizielle Eröffnung am 2. Februar, am 3. Und 4. Februar 2007 gab es Tage der offenen Tür.

Die Verlegung der Patienten und sämtlicher Aktivitäten von Hamm an den neuen Standort auf dem Kirchberg fand am 19. Februar 2007 statt. Das neue Krankenhaus verfügt über 72 Betten und betreut wöchentlich im Schnitt etwa 500 Patienten ambulant.