The electrophysiologic explorations service allow the study of the central and peripheral nervous system, muscles and neuromuscular junction (contact between neurones and muscles). The examinations performed in this service require no particular preparation and last approximately half-an-hour, sometimes up to an hour for a complete exploration.

The evaluation is based on different techniques:
The electromyography uses electrodes placed on the body, sometimes made of small needles inserted into the muscle to be monitored. This examination allows the detection of spontaneous, resting or under physical effort activities of the muscle. The record thus obtained is called the electromyogram.
The stimulo-detection activities allow the measurement of how fast the nervous sensitive or motor fibers conduct information and to detect and localize, within the central or peripheral nervous system, the suspected lesion. The sensitive or motor potentials mentioned above are stimulo-detection techniques delivering an overview of the levels of dysfunctions affection the central and/or peripheral nervous system.

Indications for neurophysiological explorations : these examinations are prescribed when the therapist suspect a neuro-muscular affection especially with paralyzed patients but also patients with sensitivity disorders. The examinations bring insights for the diagnostics in varied domains like neurology, orthopedics, neurosurgery, rheumatology, intensive care, urology and physical and rehabilitation medicine;

The primary objective of this exploration unit is to optimize our treatments suggestions and the functional revalidation of the neuro-muscular affection through the deciphering of a precise diagnostic.

L’unité d’exploration neuromusculaire permet d'étudier le système nerveux central et périphérique, les muscles et la jonction neuromusculaire (contact entre le neurone et le muscle). Les examens réalisés ne nécessitent pas de préparation particulière et durent environ une demi-heure, parfois une heure pour une exploration complète.

L’évaluation s’appuie sur différentes techniques :
L'électromyographie s'effectue en utilisant des électrodes qui sont placées à la surface du corps, constituées parfois de fines aiguilles positionnées dans le muscle que l'on désire étudier. Cet examen permet de détecter l'activité musculaire spontanément, au repos ou au moment de l'activité du muscle. Le tracé qui est obtenu est appelé « électromyogramme »
Les épreuves de stimulo-détection permettent de mesurer la vitesse de conduction des fibres nerveuses sensitives ou motrices, de détecter et de localiser, au sein du système nerveux central ou périphérique, la lésion suspectée.
Les potentiels évoqués sensitifs ou moteurs sont des techniques de stimulo-détection qui apportent une vue d’ensemble du ou des niveaux de dysfonctionnement du système nerveux central et/ou périphérique.

Les indications des explorations neurophysiologiques : ces examens sont indiqués devant une suspicion d’affection neuro-musculaire, essentiellement en présence d'une paralysie mais aussi d’un trouble de la sensibilité. Les examens orientent le diagnostic dans les champs variés de la neurologie, de l'orthopédie, de la neuro-chirurgie, de la rhumatologie, de la réanimation, de l’urologie et de la médecine physique et réadaptation ;

L’objectif premier de cette unité d’exploration est d’optimiser nos propositions de traitement et de revalidation fonctionnelle par le biais d’un diagnostic et d’un décodage précis de l’affection neuro-musculaire.