Quantified Walking ability analysis

Walking is an essential activity for all human beings. It allows autonomous, independent movements. However, it is also a complex activity, requiring several years of learning before being fully efficient. Once it reached its maturity, it becomes an automatic activity that no longer requires particular attention for any of the movements forming a repeated cycle. The automation of this activity made the surveys easier, measuring and establishing bio-mechanical standards within the three dimensions of normal walk. Theses standards are essential to study a movement because they allow comparisons with patients suffering from a pathology.

Quantified Walking ability analysis thus allows three dimensional surveys of a pathologic walk and a comparison with pre-established standards.

During a quantified walking ability analysis, kinematic, kinetic and electromyographic variables are monitored. Additionally, we can complete the quantified walking ability analysis with energy expenditure measurements during the walk.

Kinematic variables allow a description of the movement and especially moving, speed and linear acceleration of the different body segments. The movements of the different body segments are monitored with an optico-electronic made of 6 infrared cameras. These cameras will locate and follow three dimensional movements of reflective beacons stuck on specific body parts. By linking the dots, we obtain a linear representation of the movements of the different body segments. From the calculations made on the movements, we can quantify linear and angular moves of each segment and determine, through consecutive integrations, the different speeds and accelerations.

Kinetic variables allow a survey on forces used to create a movement. To achieve this, we use platform that will allow the calculation of moments (defined by the force multiplied by the distance between the force vector and the articulation center) for each articulation and of powers (defined by the articulation moment multiplied by the angular speed) that are developed, thanks to previously measured kinetic data.

Kinematic and kinetic data are pictured in curves that are compared to standards, as explained above.

Electromyographic data are gathered through surface electrodes stuck on the skin, recording muscle activity moments during a walking cycle. By comparing the recorded activity pattern to standards, it is possible to determine which muscles have a deleterious activity during the walking cycle. Electrodes implanted into muscles can be used to record deeper muscles electrical activity (posterior tibial, ilio-psoas) or the activity of different chiefs of the same muscle (quadriceps for example) to locate the chief with abnormal activity.

All these data allow us to quantify the bio-mechanical data related to the walk and allow us to identify with relative precision the abnormalities as well as the muscles which inappropriate activities lead to dysfunctions.

This way, we can define if abnormalities are related either to a muscular weakness or to spastic hypertonia or to agonistic-antagonistic muscle co-contractions leading to articular stiffness.

For some patients, these results will allow us to offer a medicinal (botulinum toxin) or surgical (intrathecal implantation of a Blacofen pump, muscular lengthening, bone relaxation osteotomy,...).

In addition to the potential for diagnostics of this examination, the quantified waling ability analysis is also a powerful way of evaluation. Indeed, we often use this examination to evaluate the possible repercussions on the ability to walk of the inactivation of one or more muscles, obtained through a neurological motor blocking or, in a lesser extent, through the injection of botulinum toxin. Once it is proved that the ability to walk is improved by such medical acts, we can give more insights for the execution of surgical acts with permanent and irreversible consequences.

Different steps of a quantified walking ability analysis:
Duration: 2 to 3 hours depending on the difficulties encountered during the recording of the examination.

  1. Clinical examination of lower limbs involved in the walk, during which the amplitude of various articulations, strength and spasticity of the different muscles are evaluated.
  2. The walk is recorded on video tape.
  3. Prepping the patient: the reflective beacons are placed on specific anatomic sites and the electrodes of the electromyograph device are stuck on the muscles that we want to monitor during the walk.
  4. Bio-mechanical data acquisition during the walk: several recordings (about ten) are necessary to calculate average results.
  5. Reconstruction of the model by the therapist to obtain and interpret kinematic, kinetic and electromyographic curves.

The energy expenditure allows us to measure how much energy is consumed during the walk. We perform the measurement of the metabolic coefficient using the classic indirect calorimetric method, in open circuit. We use a spirometer to perform those evaluations. The indirect calorimetric method consists in an evaluation of the energy expenditure based on how much oxygen is consumed and how much carbon dioxide are produced during the physical effort. This method is based on the fact that, during a physical effort, the ensemble of chemical reactions producing energy results in the oxidation of carbon and hydrogen atoms and their transformation into carbon dioxide and water. In physical effort physiology, the spirometry is often performed in open circuit with the patient breathing ambient air with a constant composition (20,93% of oxygen, 0,03% of carbon dioxide, 79,04% of nitrogen and inert gas). The measurement of the ventilatory expiratory flow and the concentration of O2 and CO2 in the expired gas determines the consumption of O2 and the production of CO2.

In our laboratory, we use a spirometer with O2 analyzing paramagnetic device (Quark, Cosmed, Italy, Polar) that cannot be moved and requiring that the analysis is made on a cyclo-ergometer or on a conveyor.

Analyse quantifiée de la marche

La marche est une activité essentielle de l’être humain. Elle permet à tout un chacun de se déplacer de manière autonome et en toute indépendance. Cependant, la marche est une activité complexe, nécessitant, avant d’arriver à maturité, un apprentissage de plusieurs années. Une fois arrivée à maturité, la marche devient une activité « automatique » ne demandant plus d’attention particulière et se décomposant en une série de mouvements qui se répètent selon un cycle bien précis. L’automatisation de cette activité a facilité son étude, principalement en permettant de mesurer et d’établir des normes biomécaniques dans les trois plans de l’espace de la marche normale. L’établissement de normes est primordial pour l’étude d’un mouvement car elle permet une comparaison en vue de l’étude d’un mouvement pathologique.

L’analyse quantifiée de la marche permet ainsi d’effectuer une étude en trois dimensions d’une marche pathologique et de la comparer à des normes préalablement établies.

Lors d’une analyse quantifiée de la marche, les variables cinématiques, cinétiques et électromyographiques sont étudiées. De plus, nous pouvons compléter cette analyse quantifiées de la marche par la mesure de la dépense énergétique durant la marche.

Les variables cinématiques permettent de décrire le mouvement et notamment, le déplacement, la vitesse et l’accélération linéaire et angulaire des différents segments du corps. Les mouvements des différents segments sont étudiés à l’aide d’un matériel opto-électronique, constitué de six caméras infra-rouges. Ces caméras vont permettre de localiser et de suivre le déplacement en 3 dimensions de balises réfléchissantes, collées à des endroits anatomiques précis du corps. En reliant ces points entre eux, on dispose d’une reconstruction en « bâtons », représentant les déplacements des différents segments du corps. A partir des déplacements ainsi calculés, on peut quantifier les déplacements linéaires et angulaires de chaque segment les uns par rapport aux autres et déterminer par intégrations successives les différentes vitesses et accélérations.

Les variables cinétiques permettent de déterminer les forces qui engendrent le mouvement. Pour ce faire, on utilise des plates-formes de force qui vont permettre, à l’aide des données cinématiques préalablement mesurées, de calculer les moments (défini par le produit de la force par la distance entre le vecteur force et le centre articulaire) au niveau de chaque articulation et les puissances (défini par le produit du moment articulaire et la vitesse angulaire) qui y sont développées.

Les données cinématiques et cinétiques sont exprimées sous forme de courbes, courbes qui sont, comme expliqué précédemment, comparées à des normes.

Les données électromyographiques sont recueillies le plus souvent à l’aide d’électrodes de surface collées sur la peau, ce qui nous renseigne sur les moments d’activité des muscles analysés durant le cycle de marche. En comparant le pattern d’activité recueilli à des normes, il nous est possible de repérer les muscles ayant une activité délétère durant la marche. En outre, des électrodes implantées dans les muscles peuvent être utilisées afin de recueillir soit l’activité électrique de muscles situés en profondeur (Tibial postérieur, Ilio-psoas) soit l’activité des différents chefs d’un même muscle (le quadriceps, par exemple) afin de repérer le chef ayant une activité anormale.

L’ensemble de ces données nous permet de quantifier des données biomécaniques liées à la marche et permet d’identifier de manière relativement précise les anomalies ainsi que le ou les muscles dont l’activité inappropriée entraîne un dysfonctionnement.

De cette manière, nous pouvons définir si les anomalies sont liées soit à une faiblesse musculaire, soit à une hypertonie spastique, soit à des co-contractions de muscles agoniste-antagoniste entraînant un enraidissement articulaire.

Ces résultats vont nous permettre dans certains cas de proposer une thérapeutique médicale (toxine botulique) ou chirurgicale (implantation de pompe à Baclofène en intrathécale, allongement musculaire, ostéotomie de réaxation osseuse, …).

Outre le potentiel diagnostique de cet examen, l’analyse quantifiée de la marche est également un puissant examen d’évaluation. En effet nous utilisons beaucoup cet examen afin d’évaluer les répercussions qu’aurait sur la marche l’inactivation d’un ou plusieurs muscles, obtenue à l’aide d’un bloc neurologique moteur ou dans une moindre mesure une injection de toxine botulique. Une fois la preuve faite que la marche est améliorée par de tel geste, nous pouvons conseiller avec plus de certitude la réalisation de gestes chirurgicaux, ayant des résultats définitifs mais irréversibles.

Déroulement d’une analyse quantifiée de la marche :
Durée : 2 à 3 heures selon les difficultés d’acquisition que l’on rencontre durant l’examen.

  1. Examen clinique des membres inférieurs et de la marche, dans lequel les amplitudes des différentes articulations, la force et la spasticité des différents muscles sont évaluées.
  2. La marche est filmée.
  3. Appareillage du patient : les balises réfléchissantes sont placées sur des sites anatomiques précis et des électrodes d’électromyographie sont collées sur les muscles dont on veut étudier l’activité durant la marche.
  4. Acquisition des données biomécaniques durant la marche : plusieurs acquisitions (une dizaine) sont nécessaires afin de pouvoir calculer des moyennes.
  5. Reconstruction du modèle par le médecin afin de pouvoir obtenir et interpréter les courbes de cinématique, de cinétique et d’électromyographie.

La dépense énergétique nous permet de mesurer l’énergie consommée durant la marche. La mesure de ce coût métabolique est réalisée suivant la méthode classique de calorimétrie indirecte, en circuit ouvert, et est réalisée à l’aide d’un spiromètre. La méthode calorimétrique indirecte consiste à évaluer la dépense énergétique à partir de la mesure de la consommation d’oxygène et de la production de gaz carbonique. Cette méthode est basée sur le fait qu’au cours de l’exercice physique, l’ensemble des réactions produisant de l’énergie résulte de l’oxydation des atomes de carbone et d’hydrogène et de leur transformation en gaz carbonique et en eau. En physiologie à l’effort, la spirométrie est généralement réalisé en circuit ouvert, le sujet inspirant l’air ambiant dont la composition est constante (20.93% d’oxygène, 0.03% de gaz carbonique, 79.04 % d’azote et de gaz inerte). La mesure du débit ventilatoire expiratoire et de la concentration en O2 et CO2 des gaz expiré permet de déterminer la consommation d’O2 et la production de CO2.

Dans notre laboratoire nous utilisons un spiromètre équipé d’analyseur d’O2 de type paramagnétique (QUARK, Cosmed, Italie,Polar), ne pouvant être déplacé et imposant d’effectuer l’analyse soit sur cyclo-ergomètre soit sur tapis roulant.